Introducing: The CID Case Series

12 months.

That’s how long the first series in the Jake Tanner saga has been in the making.

The structure is thus:

  1. The CID Case Series

  2. The SO15 Files

  3. The Terror Thriller Series

Now, if you’ve been following me and my work for a while, then you’ll know that I’ve already released two novels: Standstill and Floor 68. Both of these works are part of The Terror Thriller Series, towards the end of Jake Tanner’s universe and career (sort of).

If you’re a fan of Marvel and know what I’m talking about, then think of it this way:

  • CID Case Series = Phase 1. As Jake starts out his career in the Criminal Investigation Department;

  • SO15 Files = Phase 2. At the beginning of Jake’s tenure with counter terrorism;

  • Terror Thriller Series = Phase 3. While Jake is mid-way through his career in counter terrorism, and where things begin to take off

As I said earlier, the CID Case Series has been 12 months in the making, and it’s still going.

There will be 6 books in total, and, at the time of writing, I’ve completed five of them and the sixth is in the works.

All will be released between 2020 and 2021.

But this is a series with a twist.

Before I get to the twist, though, let me explain what the series entails and how it is different from anything else.

Book 1 - features an armed robbery, an abduction, and an evil device of magnificent proportion

Book 2 - follows a serial killer who finds his victims via an online community

Book 3 - follows a murder inside the London Olympic stadium and an even bigger network of deceit beneath it

Book 4 - follows a drug dealing maniac who burns people alive

Book 5 - features a human trafficking network that hits closer to home than Jake could ever have imagined

Book 6 - a successful lawyer and his family are murdered in their own home, and Jake has to solve the case — but this is the case to end it all

So, perhaps on the surface they may sound like normal books, but they’re not.

I don’t write normal books, do I? They’re always complex, there’s always something else to them, always something else going on.

Throughout the entire series, Jake has to fight against police corruption and an invisible enemy always looking to end his career at the next turn. That’s what makes it different.

In addition, the series really explores Jake’s character, as well his wife’s, Elizabeth’s, and several other characters in the series. There are some you’ll like, and there are others that you’ll hate, while there are others you can’t but help feel slightly sympathetic towards. It’s got everything.

Which brings me on to the first instalment in the series: The Conspiracy.

As the title suggests, there might be a conspiracy going on. But the bulk of the story follows The Crimsons (who have returned since hiding somewhere in the country after we last saw them from The Red Viper) as they raid a jewellery shop in Guildford, abduct the owner and stick an evil device around her neck. The Crimsons try to escape the country, but what they don’t realise is that they’ve got Jake Tanner chasing after them, hot on their heels.

There’s a fantastic ending, and I can’t wait for you to read it.

But wait! You didn’t explain the USP of the series.

Well, I’m glad you mentioned it, kind voice in my head, because I’m just getting to that.

The CID Case Series is like no other.

Each story is modelled on the episode nature of television, and, like television, will be split into different episodes. Six, to be precise.

Each episode will consist of a word count between 10k - 20k, and they will all continue the same story — so to enjoy the whole thing, you’ll have to download the next episode to find out what happens next.

Each episode will be 0.99, but they will also be exclusive to Amazon’s Kindle Unlimited programme, so for those of you out there who enjoy reading through KU will be able to enjoy the series that way.

The episodes will be released every Monday (like a TV programme) and all will be available to pre-order.

The first episode will be launched on 8th June 2020.

Now, if that isn’t getting you excited, then I’ve got a nice little surprise for you as well.

Here’s the cover for The Conspiracy to increase your appetite slightly.

#bookcover #coverreveal #booklaunch #jaketanner #jackprobyn #theconspiracy #cidcaseseries

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Three INGs

Pretty much from the start of my writing career (I define this as when I started learning and writing everyday back in 2016), I’ve suffered from this problem. I think it’s a problem a lot of creative

© 2020 by Jack Probyn - Privacy Policy

Pulsating thrillers that will have your heart racing...
  • bb-icon-red-square
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Goodreads Jack Probyn Author
  • Jack Probyn Author Facebook Page
  • Jack Probyn Books Twitter
  • Jack Probyn Author Google +
  • Jack Probyn Writer LinkedIn